Back to All Events

Decus Ensemble

  • Charlton House Charlton Road London, SE7 8RE United Kingdom (map)

A celebration of Black British and African Classical Composers at Charlton House

 is a research project by oboist Uchenna Ngwe, exploring, uncovering and promoting the work of Black British and African musicians working in European and West African art or classical music. Although modern composers are included, the main focus is on musicians who were active before the 1970s. The Decus Ensemble will be performing the first concerts in this series, which includes music for instrumental ensemble by Segun Akinola, Errollyn Wallen and Samuel Coleridge-Taylor.


Five Piece for English Horn and Piano – Akin Euba (1963)
Egba Musical Totem – Godwin Sadoh (2017)
Welcome to my Time Machine – Segun Akinola (2011)
Music for Tigers – Errollyn Wallen (2006)
Nonet in F Major – Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (1894)

Earlier Event: 31 October
London Contemporary Orchestra
Later Event: 1 December
Solomon's Knot Baroque Collective